Updated: Aug 3
If you live in the state of Florida than you know what a hit and run is. Did you know hit and runs account for about 25% of accidents? Although theses types of accidents are illegal that percentage of accidents still remains extremely high. Therefore, there's some things you may want to keep in mind to ensure you are protected and covered if you ever needed to be. In order to convict someone of a hit and run there's certain thing an individual must prove.
Defining a Hit and Run
In order to convict a hit and run an individual must first understand what the term means. It is defined as the failure of a driver to remain at the site of a vehicle crash and fulfill other statutory duties, when the crash at issue involves death, bodily injury, or property damage. This means that if a car hit you and did not try to exchange information or provide assistance to someone injured they have committed a hit and run.
Figuring out what to do in a case like this is very difficult, that is why you may want to call a personal injury attorney for assistance with your case. They know how frustrating and difficult these situations are and will walk you through the entire process. They want to ensure you gain the compensation that you deserve.
The Evidence you Need
These are all things you can try to use in your case. The make and model of the vehicle, the car's VIN number, and license plate. If you don't have that information you may want to look for witnesses to see if anyone around was able to see the accident. You can ask to get that witnesses information so that they are able to speak on your behalf as to what they saw. If they are comfortable with it you can even get a video of the witness recounting what they saw, make sure they include their name and contact details.
If you can grab photos of the scene, damages, etc. This is ideal evidence and if you are too injured you should ask someone else to do so for you. The more evidenced you can gather yourself the better off you are.
Florida Laws for Hit & Runs
Florida Law's regarding hit and run accidents are as follows:
Florida Statutes § 316.0611 - Property damage related statute
Florida Statutes § 316.0272 - Injury and death
Florida Statutes § 316.0623 - Information exchange rules and rendering aid
The Penalties of a Hit and Run
The severity of this crime is dependent on the damages caused in the hit and run accident. It can range anywhere from a $500 to $10,000 fine and result in anywhere between 60 days to 30 years in prison.
If you are a victim of a hit and run accident you may want to call one of our personal injury attorneys. We will help you get the compensation you deserve and ensure the negligent party is held responsible. Call Demesmin and Dover Law Firm today for your free consultation, our accident attorneys will be able to walk you through every step of the process and help you gain the compensation you deserve. We care more about helping you, cause to us it's personal.